Many people may want to permanently delete or temporarily deactivate their Instagram page simply because they want to take a break from social media, they are experiencing cyberbullying, spend long hours on the platform or probably find Instagram too distracting.
Whatever the reason may be, this article is designed to provide readers with all they need to successfully delete or deactivate Instagram accounts without needing to consult anyone to help them in the process.
To permanently delete your Instagram account, consider downloading your Instagram content from photos, videos, comments, to profile information. i.e a copy of everything you have ever uploaded to the platform before taking the bold step of permanently deleting your account page. This is because the deletion process is permanent and cannot be reversed.
But if you plan on returning back to the Instagram community days, weeks, or months after you might have deleted your IG account, consider deactivating your account rather than deleting it. It is very simple to reactivate an Instagram account that has been temporarily disabled than accounts that are deleted.
How To Delete Instagram Account Permanently
Your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes, and followers will disappear as though they were never existing if you decide to delete your Instagram account permanently. Also, if you deleted your IG account page, it will be impossible to reactivate the deleted account unless if you temporarily disable the account.
But if you temporarily disable your Instagram page, your profile, photos, comments, and likes will be entirely hidden from other users until you reactivated it or log back on the platform before all your previous activity will be restored.
Log in to your Instagram account
To delete your Instagram account permanently, you need to first and foremost need to log into instagram.com from a mobile browser or computer, because you can’t delete your Instagram account from the Instagram app.
Go to Instagram’s ‘Delete Your Account’ page
After you have logged in, go to Delete Your Account page and select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you deleting your account? After you have done that, re-enter your password. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you have selected a reason from the menu.
Enter your password and permanently delete Instagram
Immediately you re-enter your password to confirm that you want to delete your Instagram account permanently. The option to permanently delete your account will appear. Click ‘Permanently delete my account’ and your account along with all of your content and followers will be disabled for good. But once you have deleted your account, you can’t sign up with that same username if you decide to create another Instagram account later on. Instagram also can’t reactivate deleted accounts.
However, if you want to delete a different account, totally different from the present want you are using, click the username in the top-right of the Delete Your Account page and tap on next to username and select Log Out. Log back in as the account you want to delete and follow the directions above.
But should in case you can’t remember your password or username, you can reset it using your email address, phone number or Facebook account. If you’re not able to reset your password this way, open the Instagram app for additional help.
Note, Once you deleted your Instagram account, all of your data is gone for good and it cannot be retrieved again, even by Instagram itself. So you may download your Instagram data before you delete your account, so that you will still have all the photos, videos, etc. that you have posted over time. Below is how you can download your Instagram data.
Go to your Instagram profile and select ‘Settings‘ that looks like a gear icon. Click on the ‘Privacy & Security’ tab and click ‘Request Download’. Enter the email address where you would like to receive a link to your Instagram data, followed by your password. Within 48 hours you should receive an email with a link to your data, titled ‘Your Instagram Data’. Click ‘Download Data’.
How To Temporarily Disable Instagram Account
Peradventure, you don’t want to delete your Instagram account permanently but just want to temporarily disable for some time. Here is the step-by-step procedure on how to temporarily deactivate your Instagram account.
It is important to state here that if you are temporarily deactivating your Instagram account, your profile, photos, comments, and likes will be hidden until you reactivate it by logging back in.
Log in to your Instagram account
To temporarily disable your Instagram account, log in to instagram.com from a web browser on your desktop/computer or mobile device, as mention earlier you can’t also temporarily disable your account from the Instagram app.
Select Temporarily Disable My Account
The second stage of deactivating your Instagram account is to tap or click in the top right and then select Edit Profile. In case you are finding it difficult to achieve, navigate to your profile screen and click ‘Edit Profile’ on the top of the page. Scroll down, then tap or click Temporarily disable my account in the bottom right.
Deactivate Instagram Account
Select an option from the drop-down menu next to Why are you disabling your account? and re-enter your password. The option to disable your account will only appear after you have selected a reason from the menu. Click Temporarily Disable Account.
Once you click Temporarily Disable Account your profile along with all of your content and followers will be hidden until you reactivate it by logging back to reactivate the account. But if you don’t want to disable your account but want to change who can see it, you can set your posts to private or block people. All in all, you will need your password to both delete and disable your account.
How To Reactivate Instagram Account
You might be thinking is it possible to reactivate an Instagram account after you have disabled it. Yes! It is possible to reactivate/re-register your Instagram account whenever you have decided to return back to the Instagram community. Although you may not be able to have the same username as another account could have taken it. But the good news is that you have the chance to re-register your account and start all over again.
To reactivate your deactivated or temporarily disable Instagram account page, you will need to log in to your Instagram account again through the Instagram website (instagram.com) and log in with your user name and password to restore your disabled account.
After you enter your username and password to restore your disabled Instagram account and the credentials successfully restore your account, congratulations! that means your Instagram account is active again but if you couldn’t sign in, that means you will need to reset your password and start all over again.
To reset your password, click on the forgot password? the link below the log in button and enter your username or the email address used to create your Instagram account. If you entered the info correctly, you will receive an email with the steps to reset your passcode.
After that is done and you have already logged into your account, that means your account has been activated but if you want to change your password, you must access settings from your user profile. Tap on the three dots located on the top right corner of the screen. You will immediately find the option Change Password.
However, Instagram suggests waiting a minimum of 24 hours after deactivating your Instagram account to reactivate it, as the deactivation process takes roughly a day to complete.
How To Download Instagram Data
To download your Instagram data before permanently deleting your Instagram account. Here is the simple guide to successfully download all your Instagram Document and information you may need later on. To get started:
- Go to your Instagram profile and select ‘Settings‘ (gear icon).
- Click on the ‘Privacy & Security’ tab and click ‘Request Download’.
- Enter the email address where you would like to receive a link to your Instagram data, followed by your password.
- Within 48 hours you should receive an email with a link to your data, titled ‘Your Instagram Data’. Click ‘Download Data’.