Ex-Prem ref explains why VAR didn’t look at Youri Tielemans’ winner vs Chelsea despite Perez handball
VAR didn’t check Leicester ace Ayoze Perez’s handball in the FA Cup Final because it
didn’t occur “immediately” before Youri Tielemans’ screamer
The Foxes won their first-ever FA Cup on Saturday after beating Chelsea 1-0 at Wembley
thanks to Tielemans’ sensational winner.
However, the star midfielder’s stunner was met with some controversy as the ball hit
Perez’s hand, via his knee, when he tried to intercept a Reece James pass in the build-up.
Luke Thomas then picked up the ball and fed the Belgium international who launched an
unstoppable 30-yard shot, which gave Chelsea goalkeeper Kepa Arrizabalaga absolutely
A number of Blues players implored referee Michael Oliver to check the incident on
VAR and a raft of fans echoed the same sentiments on social media.
However, former Premier League referee Peter Walton explained that the supposed
offense didn’t create Tielemans’ goalscoring opportunity and thus didn’t fall under
Walton also claimed that Leicester ace Perez didn’t break any rules as the ball came off
his knee first.
He told BT Sport: “It’s a subjective viewpoint whether or not it was handball.
“Personally, I don’t think it was a handball, the ball has deflected off Perez’s knee and just
caught his arm.
“That in itself people may argue is handball, I don’t think it was.
“However, VAR would not have got involved in that incident because the actual
goalscoring opportunity didn’t occur immediately when there was a potential handball.
“There was seven seconds or so between that potential handball and the ball hitting
the back of the net.
“That’s not immediately and the law states it’s only an offense if the goalscoring
opportunity happens immediately, so good use of VAR.”